The Council

The Councillors

  • Anne Hughes MBE (Chairman)
  • Ian Moore (Vice Chairman)
  • Sarah Hughes
  • Margherita Holmes
  • Caroline Chambers
  • Clive Chambers
  • Peter Pyke
  • Myles Salmon

Clerk to Council

Linda Berrett-West  who can be contacted on 07488227309 or by emailing

Borough Councillors

Our Borough Councillors try to attend all our monthly meetings and are always willing to help in any way they can. They have already been of great assistance over various village matters. To contact them, their details are as follows:

  • Kevin Bentley
    Willoughby End, 32 Willoughby Avenue, West Mersea CO5 8AU.
    Home: 01206 382405
    Work: 01206 548100
  • Andrew Ellis
    Ransomes, Wigborough Road, Peldon  CO5 7RA.
    Home: 01206 735166
    Mobile: 07768 986611
  • Jackie Maclean
    The Old Rectory, Church Lane, Stanway, CO3 8LT
    Home:  01206 213041
    Work:  01206 212128
    Mobile:  07590 453234

Parish Council Meeting Dates

The Parish Council meets on the second Monday of each month in the Committee Room at the Village Hall, New Cut at 7.30pm.

Register of Electors

The Borough has a policy of rolling registration, which is updated once a month. If you are new to the village you can register your name at the Borough at any time. Phone 282820 (Elections Office). If you register by mid-month, you are included in the next month’s register. Visit their website to download a voter registration form –, then go to “elections”.